Greene County Training School - South Greene High

GCTS-SGHS National Alumni Association, Inc. * P. O. Box 122 * Snow Hill * NC * 28580    |

We have a wonderful story to tell

The first Greene County Training School-South Greene Reunion of Classes was sponsored by the Greene County Improvement Association, with Mrs. Hazel Harrison Lewis as coordinator.  This venture sparked an interest in organizing an Alumni Association in the name of the now closed “Colored High School.”  Since 1925, that school had provided black Greene County children with an education beyond the elementary level.  The founders refused to allow this institution that had shaped so many lives slip into the past. They refused to forget the contributions, the role models, the memories, and the human products of this period of black life in Greene County.  Because of all the reasons noted above the venture became a reality and the Greene County Training School and South Greene High School Alumni Association was born. In 1977 an organizational meeting was held and the North Carolina Chapter officially began with Georgia D. Hall as president; Richard Edwards, Vice President; Mercer Suggs, Secretary; Patricia Shackleford, Assistant Secretary; Isolene A. Taylor, Treasurer; Lanie M. Barfield, Executive Secretary; Hazel H. Lewis.  
The organization is a 501c(3) non-profit operating in Snow Hill, North Carolina.  In addition to the North Carolina Chapter, there are chapters in Washington, DC, New York and New Jersey.

To promote our culture and heritage.  

To perpetuate the spirit of brotherhood.

To establish a scholarship fund that may be used to aid students in obtaining post-secondary training.  

To sponsor an Annual Reunion of Classes - Alumni Weekend.  

To sponsor special projects that will benefit the Black community of Greene County.


South Greene High School walls are fairest.
With all their dreams and tears.
And to thee, our ALMA MATER,
We pledge our love so dear,
We pledge our love so dear,
Cherished maroon and gold.
And to thee, our ALMA MATER
May we our colors hold.

For clean sportsmanship we're fighting,
In allegiance we're sincere.
South Greene High School walls will linger
Where're we go from here.
Where're we go from here.
Cherished maroon and gold.
And to thee, our ALMA MATER
Our colors we'll ever hold.

Info At A Glance

Ronald Speight
National President
(803) 535-9307

John A. Hill
Executive Director
(252) 747-4028

Leisa E. Batts
National Recording Secretary
(252) 531-2594

Thelma Harper Jones
Asst. Recording Secretary

Theresa H. Cannon
National Financial Secretary
(252) 747-8445

Thurman Yelverton
National Treasurer
(919) 219-6399

Doris Bryant Lowrie
(202) 610-0003

Rev. James W. Britt
National Chaplain
(919) 734-5619

Members of The
Board of Directors

Jonelle D. Davis, Chair, Snow Hill, NC
Elder Antonio Blow, Snow Hill, NC
Dr. Velma Speight-Buford, Greensboro
Dr. David Carmon, Greensboro, NC
LaMonte Connor, New York, NY
Percy Edwards, Snow Hill, NC
Christopher Graham, Tallahassee, FL
Daisy Ray Morris, Raleigh, NC
Geraldine Shackleford, Snow Hill, NC
Annie W. Uzzell, Fremont, NC


Associations Mailing Address

P.O. Box 122
Snow Hill, NC 28580

National Alumni Association, Inc.


North Carolina Chapter Meetings are held on Monday evenings after the third Sunday of each month.  The meeting begins promptly at 7:00 p.m. at the Greene County Community Center, 814 W. Harper Street, Snow Hill, NC.  Larry D. Miller, '76, President; Jacqueline Suggs, '73, Secretary and Evelyn Connor McLawhorn,'66, Treasurer. 

a.  Jasper Ormond, Jr., a member of the class of 1966, was the speaker for this year's Leonard H. Smith, Jr. Memorial Banquet.  He clearly focused on this year's reunion theme, 'Continuing To Nurture The Village:  A Family Affair.'  He reminded the audience of how individuals and families in our communities prepared us for a world beyond Greene County.  They were excellent models for us.  They disciplined us and provide the 'stuff' we needed to survive.  Mr. Ormond did a masterful job of connecting the audience to yesteryear when we collectively demonstrated a love for one another . . . in the real sense of the word.  Listen to a video clip of his message in  MEDIA/AUDIO & VIDEO.  

b.  Beginning with Reunion 2017, the Annual Alumni Hospitality Night will bear the name of Mrs. Sara Suggs Giles.  During this year's Members' Meeting, the Board of Directors recommended that we create a memorial to honor Mrs. Giles.  The recommendation was unanimously approved.  Mrs. Giles was a former teacher and counselor with Greene County Schools.  Her life and work literally touched the lives of countless students and families throughout this community and beyond.  Mrs. Giles served our Association in a number of assignments; principally as chair of the Inez E. Burge Scholarship program.  Hospitality Night will hereafter be referred to as the Sara S. Giles Annual Alumni Hospitality Night.  Read the resolution creating this memorial to her in  MEDIA/ARTICLES.

c.  Bishop Johnnie E. Reddick was recipient of the COMMUNITY SERVICE AWARD given annually by the Association during the Lanie M. Barfield Salute To Excellence program.   Bishop Reddick currently pastors Mt. Calvary FWB Church, LaGrange, NC and Maury Chapel FWB Church, Maury, NC.  He also is General Bishop of the United American FWB Church Denomination, Inc. and Annual Bishop of the Northwest 'B' Annual Conference of the United American FWB Church Denomination, Inc.  The United American FWB Church Denomination, Inc. was founded in 1868 at Sandy Grove FWB Church, Snow Hill, NC.  Shady Grove is the 'Mother Church.'  Bishop Reddick served for many years as President of Free Will Baptist, USA which meets bi-annually in cities all over the country.  He is known throughout the country for his powerful and insightful messages of hope and deliverance.  In addition, his life and work is a visible testament of his love of the ministry and the changes it promises for those who remain steadfast, "always abounding in the work of the Lord."  

d.  The Association is proud to applaud our own Dr. Velma Speight-Buford for her continued service to her beloved NC A&T State University and the larger community.  Dr. Speight has unselfishly given her talents and resources in support of our Association over the years.  Even when she was not holding an official position with the Association, she has always made herself available for consultation relative to a host of concerns.  Dr. Speight was re-elected to the Board of Directors during this year's Members' Meeting for another two year term of service.  NC A&T State University recently honored her with its Chancellor's Legacy Award in Alumni Service.  Read more in MEDIA/ARTICLES.  

e. We will always remember how 'spirited' the class of 1966 was as they were individually pinned and inducted into the Golden Circle.  It was a joyful occasion characterized by a lot of hugs, smiles and even some tears.  Note the pictures from that evening in the PHOTO GALLERIES.


Recent Inez E. Burge Scholarship Recipients

LaRuth Anderson
Jernaysia Barrett
Erika Desi-Segovi
Adrianna Gardner
Keosha Ham
Tyquan Hardy
Bria Haskins
Alexis Langley
Yanet Martinez
Gia Mason
Ashley Murray
Sahian Ramirez
Mattalyn Rouse
Dissia Speight
Amani Warren
Anthony Warren
Ryan Warren


Become A Member

The Association will consist of two types of memberships - regular and associated.

You can contact GCTS/SGH National Alumni Association, Inc.
P.O. Box 122, Snow Hill, NC 28580.
Attention: Alumni Committee.

Or contact us via our online form regarding membership.
click here.


Photo Gallery


Copyright © 2016 | GCTS-SGHS
All Rights Reserved.
About Us
   Alumni History
   The Principals
   Teachers & Staff
   Member Requirements
   Museum Exhibit
Upcoming Events
   Audio & Video
Contact Us
Designed By:
Medeo Designs